This sweet and tangy sauce is the perfect way to amp up the flavor in any dish. Use your honey mustard as a dip for soft pretzel bites or dressing for salads.
- Vegan Honey: Make your own vegan honey out of apples! The honey will add a sweetness to your dressing and add a distinct flavor.
- Vegan Mayonnaise: Adding mayo to your dressing will give it more tangy and will compliment the mustard.
- Yellow Mustard: Adding in yellow mustard will give your Vegan Honey Mustard its distinct flavor while adding a yellow hue.
- White Vinegar: To tie the dressing together, add in white vinegar or lemon juice. This bit of acidity will compliment the fattiness of the mayo and the sweetness of the honey.
How to Make Vegan Honey Mustard
Making this recipe is quite easy and quick.
Add the ingredients together in a mixing bowl and then whisk together to incorporate a bit of air into the dressing.
Since the honey can get sticky and possibly stick inside the whisk, it’s best to mis the mayo and the honey together first, or roughly mix it together with a fork.
Using Vegan Honey Mustard
Now that you have your honey mustard made, there are many different ways for you to start incorporating it.
Use your vegan honey mustard as a dipping sauce for broccoli and cauliflower.
This dip can also be used as a dressing. Drizzle the honey mustard over your favorite salad in place of your usual, store-bought dressing.
How to Store
If you are looking for a way to store your vegan honey mustard, you can place it into an airtight container. Place the container in the fridge and keep your jar of honey mustard at an arms reach.
The vegan honey mustard will stay fresh in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. You can also freeze the honey mustard if you want to make it in a large batch.
Is Honey Vegan?
This has always been a great debate amongst folks that are trying to eliminate animal products from their diet.
Since honey is a byproduct of an animal, bees, it is not considered vegan.
Some vegans do consider honey as an okay food for their consumption and do not see anything wrong with eating honey, especially if you’re picking up local honey from your neighborhood beekeeper.
Other vegans are completely against honey since the bees create honey for themselves, not for our consumption.
Whenever humans decide to use animal products for personal or commercial use, there is an ethical dilemma that is introduced.
If you are looking for a way to make vegan honey, check out this recipe. It isn’t the exact same as regular honey, but it is pretty darn close.
Is this considered WFPD?
WFPD stands for whole-food plant diet. To make sure that this recipe complies with the WFPD standards, you will need to omit the vegan mayo if there is oil in it.